Sunday, October 27, 2013

ACKS: Blessed Undertaker

Prime Requisites: DEX, WIS
Requirements: Must be Neutral.
Hit Dice: 1d4
Maximum Level: 14

Mawat is neither a kind god nor a Lawful one; he cares little for civilization or for the affairs of the living. As Lord of the Underworld and Master of the Dead, his domain is a grim one - that of the eternal burial of flesh in the earth and the eternal containment of the soul in Sheol (the Underworld). Mawat is, however, greedy and patient at the same time - he covets the souls of all that lives for expanding his hoard of dead spirits in his deathly realm, but he can wait. And waiting always pays off for him - for everything dies. Well, almost everything. If there is one thing that enrages this God of Death, it is undeath - as he sees it, outright theft of what is rightfully his, done by lesser gods and impudent mortal sorcerers. The bodies and souls stolen from Mawat by means of necromancy must be returned to their rightly place - his underworld, where he reigns supreme.

Towards this end, of putting restless dead to rest and sending their spirits to Mawat's realm of Sheol, the Master of the Dead sends forth his mortal servants, his priests, as some would call them - the Blessed Undertakers. Their task is to slay undead, as well as those who dare rebel against Mawat and create them in the first place. Many of them, in more civilized places also take the role of guardians of graveyards, tombs and catacombs - vigilantly watching the dead lest they rise in defiance of their rightful Master.

Blessed Undertakers are skilled combatants, albeit not as good as fighters. At first level, they hit an unarmoured foe (AC 0) with an attack throw of 10+. They advance in attack throws and saving throws by two points every four levels of experience. Blessed Undertakers may only use Swords & Daggers (including sickles, which use the stats for a short sword), Bows and Crossbows and may only wear leather armour or lighter. They may not use shields but may either use one one-handed weapon, two weapons or a two-handed weapon. They gain one Cleave attack every two levels. They progress in saving throws and Proficiencies as a Cleric.

Blessed Undertakers Cast Divine Spells, using the following spell list, and Turn Undead as Clerics of their level, and may engage in magical research and item creation as Clerics. They are blessed with the ability to slay undead; in order to do so, they are blessed with the ability to Backstab undead, and only undead, as a Thief of their level. They may also Move Silently and Hide in Shadows as a thief of their level.

At Level 3, Blessed Undertakers are Concealed from Undead by Mawat's power; when they sneak, undead are considered to be passively watching rather than actively watching. At level 5, they gain the power of Righteous Turning - When turning undead, the character adds his Wisdom bonus to both the turning throw and to the number of HD turned on a successful throw. At level 9, they may Detect Undead at will, with a casting time of 1 turn, as per the spell (PC p.134).

When a Blessed Undertaker attains 9th level (Patriarch), he can establish a Sanctum, and 2d6 blessed Gravediggers of 1st level will come to work with the character. Sanctums follow similar rules to Thief Hideouts, though their operations are aimed at the undead enemy.

Blessed Undertaker Proficiency List: Alertness, Apostasy, Battle Magic, Blind Fighting, Combat Trickery (force back, overrun, sunder), Contemplation, Diplomacy, Divine Blessing, Divine Health, Fighting Style, Healing, Knowledge (history), Leadership, Loremastery, Magical Engineering, Martial Training, Precise Shooting, Prestidigitation, Profession (undertaker), Prophecy, Quiet Magic, Righteous Turning, Sensing Evil, Sensing Power, Skirmishing, Skulking, Sniping, Theology, Unflappable Casting, Weapon Finesse, Weapon Focus.

Blessed Undertaker Spell List:

First Level Divine Spells:
1. Cure Light Wounds*
2. Delay Disease
3. Detect Evil*
4. Detect Magic
5. Detect Undead
6. Light*
7. Protection from Evil
8. Remove Fear
9. Resist Cold
10. Sanctuary

Second Level Divine Spells:
1. Bless
2. Delay Poison
3. Hold Person
4. Resist Fire
5. Righteous Wrath
6. Silence 15' radius
7. Spiritual Weapon

Third Level Divine Spells:
1. Continual Light*
2. Cure Blindness*
3. Cure Disease*
4. Detect Curse*
5. Detect Invisible
6. Feign Death
7. Glyph of Warding
8. Inaudability
9. Invisibility
10. Invulnerability to Evil
11. Prayer
12. Remove Curse*
13. Speak with Dead
14. Striking

Fourth Level Divine Spells:
1. Cure Serious Wounds*
2. Death Ward
3. Dispel Magic
4. Neutralize Poison*
5. Protection from Evil, Sustained*
6. Smite Undead*
7. Tongues

Fifth Level Divine Spells:
1. Atonement
2. Commune
3. Dispel Evil
4. Flame Strike
5. Quest*
6. Strength of Mind*
7. Sword of Fire
8. True Seeing

Player's Companion Math:
HD 0, Fighter 1a, Thievery 1, Divine 2. level 2 XP 1,200.

Trade-offs: Armour selection from Unrestricted to Narrow (2 powers).
Power Trade-offs: 2 Powers to Powers at levels 3, 5 and 7.

No comments:

Post a Comment